SYDNEY: 11 September 2017 – The Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) and Zurich have announced the finalists in the prestigious 2017 AFA Adviser of the Year and Practice of the Year Awards (the Awards).

The Awards are presented to extraordinary and visionary advisers and practices, recognising qualities of leadership, innovation, customer focus and professional excellence.

The Adviser of the Year Award represents the pinnacle of achievement and recognition for Australia’s premier financial advisers. Nominees are judged for the contribution they make to improving the financial literacy of their clients and their community.

Meanwhile, the Practice of the Year Award recognises advice businesses which are at the forefront of taking the profession forward through innovation, customer centricity and advice excellence.

In its 15th Year, the Adviser of the Year Award was first presented in 2003, as a joint initiative between the AFA and Zurich, and is regarded as Australia’s most prestigious award for financial advice.

Practice of the Year, now in its third year, focusses on those businesses with outstanding processes and delivering a consistent level of high quality advice to their clients through a proposition, that’s set them apart from their peers.

AFA CEO, Phil Kewin said, “These are the most demanding and rigorous advice award reflecting the exacting demands of the modern consumer and what should be expected of a financial adviser or practice.”

He added: “We are proud to be promoting such high standards and providing the benchmark of professionalism. Every finalist has invested in themselves and their business, and to reach this stage of the judging process is an achievement in itself. Not to mention all of those who are striving to be the best, who did not make this year’s finalist. They should be all very proud, and I congratulate them all for their commitment. When looking at those representing our profession, we certainly have a lot to be proud of.”

Zurich Life & Investments CEO, Tim Bailey said that the calibre of this year’s grand finalists was exceptional.

“In the face of technological disruption, intense regulator and media scrutiny and heightened consumer expectations, these are the advisers and advice practices who are truly taking the advice profession forward.”

He added: “Their vision and leadership helps chart a path for their peers, showing how quality advice can be made accessible to more people, ultimately lifting the reputation of the entire profession.”

The Finalists for the Adviser of the Year Award are:

  • Charlie Fraser, Shadforth Financial Group
  • Glen James, Fortify Financial
  • Julia Schortinghuis, Lighthouse Capital

The Finalists for the Practice of the Year Award are:

  • Australian Financial Risk Management
  • PFG Financial Services

Winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner on 13th October 2017 that concludes this year’s AFA National Conference at the Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast.

About the AFA
The Association of Financial Advisers Limited (AFA) has been the authentic voice on the value of financial advice for over 70 years. Today, the AFA is a vibrant, innovative association, where the underlying driver of policy is the belief that great advice transforms lives. To this end the AFA is striving to achieve the vision of Great Advice for More Australians. The AFA’s ongoing relevance as a professional association is derived from our success in engaging with the major stakeholders in financial advice including advisers, consumers, licensees, product and service providers, and the regulator and government. Culturally we believe in the value of collaboration to create powerful outcomes and this drives how we achieve influence and work towards our vision.