The Australian Property Institute (API) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Excellence in Property Awards (the Awards). 

Awarded across six categories, the Awards celebrate both individual and company excellence across the property profession. 

API CEO Amelia Hodge said, “This is the second year of the revised Awards and once again we have been impressed by the calibre of both winners and finalists in all categories. By showcasing the incredible talent within our profession, we believe we continue to encourage outstanding service delivery and product development, which in turn drives improved outcomes right across the broader property industry.”

The Awards were presented at the National Property Conference (NPC) on the Gold Coast, and the winners are: 

Workplace Diversity and Culture Award 
Sponsored by: Australian Property Institute Valuers Limited (APIV)
Winner: NAB Property Services Group

Recognising leadership and excellence in promoting diversity and creating a progressive workplace culture for the advancement of the property sector. 

Valuation Team of the Year Award 
Sponsored by: m3property
Winner: Savills Australia

The Valuation Team of the Year Award recognises excellence in the application of valuation standards and a commitment to best practice across a valuation team. 

Young Professional of the Year Award 
Sponsored by: Opteon
Winner: Celeste Orange, Contract Valuer, Westlink Consulting

Open to property professionals under the age of 35 (at 31/12/18), this Award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the industry and demonstrated professional excellence and demonstrated personal contribution to the API community of Young Property Professionals, as an active volunteer, advocate and role model. 

Innovation in Property Award 
Sponsored by: University of Melbourne
Winner: CBRE Digital Innovation Team

This award recognises innovation from an individual, team or organisation in the property sector, development and implementation of an innovative project, product, technology or system and demonstrated benefit of the project, product, technology or system to the property industry as a whole and/or the community

The Lesley Bennett Women in Property Award 
Sponsored by: Preston Rowe Paterson 
Winner: Jacqui Bayles, Interim CEO, Herron Todd White

Named after Lesley Bennett, the API’s first female member, this Award recognises leadership, professionalism and outstanding contribution to the property community. Lesley graduated from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology in 1961 and was admitted as the first female Associate of the Institute on 7 June 1962. She was employed in the Real Estate Office of the Victorian Railways and after graduation was made a staff valuer. 

The Colonel Alfred Clifford Catt Award 
Sponsored by: Valuecorp
Winner: Greg Clarke, Queensland Chairman, Property Industry Foundation

This Award, named in honour of the first President of the Commonwealth Institute of Valuers (the Australian Property Institute’s original name), recognises significant contribution and commitment to the property profession and the API community. 

The Awards were judged by a panel of highly regarded property professionals whose knowledge collectively covers the broad spectrum of award categories. Please CLICK HERE to view a list of winners and finalists.

About the Australian Property Institute (API)

The Australian Property Institute (API) is the leading and contemporary membership organisation for property professionals. API sets and maintains the highest standards of professional practice, education, ethics and professional conduct for its members. In turn the work of API raises the bar for the entire property profession and advocates on a range of member issues with a range of stakeholders. API is committed to building and maintaining a strong base for the future of the property profession through broadening the expertise and knowledge of membership. As a result, API’s impartial, objective and independent advice is sought after by a broad range of organisations including all levels of Government.